Short Stories

Starting Over by Elizabeth Spencer

All the nine stories in this short story collection are about loss followed by redemption, reconciliation, and finding peace. The author wrote them after the death of her husband of 45 years, and converted that loss into a theme for the stories. That’s fine — and I’m willing to cut her something of a break because of her grief — but after the sixth or seventh one, the stories seemed repetitious and single-focused. Loss can take many forms, and can lead different characters towards different decisions; this felt like one loss — one story — repeated nine times over.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s